1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Worst published picture of yourself ...

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by Bubbler, Sep 4, 2006.

1. Bubbler

Bubbler Well-Known Member

I came across mine when organizing some old crap for a "den" I'm working on (actually just an old darkroom in my basement with an old PC, my CDs, and all kinds of sports and other paraphenalia Mrs. Bubbler would never allow in the house proper).

And it had the harmonic convergence of appearing with my first -- and most definitely my worst -- column.

As a college student, I never really worked for the student paper, opting instead to get "real" experience and string for a small daily. Worked great.

My editor developed enough trust in me to ask me to submit a prediction column for a sectional basketball tab. It's amazing the little shit you get excited about at that level when you're that young, I thought I had just scored a MLB beat with free hooker privileges on the side.

I proceed to write an opus Tolstoy would have admonished for being too long. Seriously, I conservatively wrote 1,000 inches on a five-game sectional scenario, and worse, my editor ran it in its entirety. He definitely received more manna than he could have possibly dreamed of from the stringer Gods that day when no ads were sold. And I have to admit, I love the man for giving me a break, but I'm questioning big-time why he didn't take a machete to this bad boy.