1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

What type of internships does your paper have????

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by YoungGun7, Jun 6, 2007.

1. YoungGun7

YoungGun7 New Member

I am a student at thistown university, and interning at a local newspaper.

I had to interview for this gig, and in the interview i told them i wanted to be a sports writer after college, and that i write sports for the school paper. well, they inform me that the paper doesn't do a sports intern.

well, ok at least i tried right?

a few weeks later the editor calls me and says, "well we'll use you. you can do 50/50 sports and news. fast forward, and guess who isn't even allowed to go near the sports department. :mad:

Just wondering how other papers treat their interns. do you allow sports interns???

2. donaugust

donaugust Member

I would say that before you get too frustrated, keep in mind you are in a position to learn an awful lot about the business if you take advantage of it. Keep your eyes and ears open, watch how other people do their job.

I started on an internship in my first job, in sports.

3. Agreed. Do what they ask you to do and do it well. Then if something comes up and you get a chance to cover a sporting event or write a little sports on the side, knock it out of the park.

My first internship was on the news side, but during my summer at the paper the sports editor just up and quit, and yours truly "volunteered" to take over sports in his absence. When my internship was over, the paper hired me as the new Sports Editor.

So keep plugging and remember -- you make your own breaks.