1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Warning the editor about this...

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by the_rookie, Aug 28, 2006.

1. the_rookie

the_rookie Member

The tournament is actually called NARCh (small aitch -- learned how to spell that from a spelling bee), and it's the North American Rollerhockey Championships. It went to press as NARC It's a monthly and I'm a freelancer, so not much communication with the copy desk.

Next time, should I point it out to my editor (by using brackets) in the copy or make a footnote? Has this have happened to you? If yes, how did you deal with it?

2. jgmacg

jgmacg Guest

Next time add a [CQ].

As in "NARCh [CQ]." It lets the blue pencils know it's not a typo in your mss.

3. Canuck Pappy

Canuck Pappy Member

To pass something on like this we just add a note at top

Note--NARCh is the official acronym as per the media guide and SID.

4. loveyabye

loveyabye Guest

That's pretty impressive the paper would use a freelancer for the NARCh.

5. the_rookie

the_rookie Member

Nah. Just a graf.

A prime example was the NARC (North American Rollerhockey Championships) tournament, which took place at Hershey last month, July 15-30. In economic spin-off, it generated an estimated $10.3 million across the GTA, as 382 teams (from children to pros) participated in the international tournament for a total of 940 games.

6. Double J

Double J Active Member

If it was just a graf and there was only one reference to the tournament, why even bother with the acronym in the first place?

7. the_rookie

the_rookie Member

For future reference.

8. Songbird