1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Verducci with a darn good piece about A-Rod

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Double Down, Sep 19, 2006.

1. Double Down

Double Down Well-Known Member

Release the Hounds! (And the A-Rod apologists!)

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2006/magazine/09/19/arod0925/index.html

Impressive how candid Giambi is with his criticism of Rodriguez in this article. As a journalist, I totally appreciate it, but somehow I doubt A-Rod was out there punking Giambi when he was hitting .198 and nearly got sent to the minors.

2. Flying Headbutt

Flying Headbutt Moderator Staff Member

Probably the most honest story about A-Rod I've seen in a while. Good read though. Excellent job by Verducci.

3. Starman

Starman Well-Known Member

Giambi: 36 HR, 109 RBI, .251 BA. Fatass first baseman with zero (0) defensive value
    Rodriguez: 34 HR, 116 RBI, .288 BA. Probably the best defensive player on the team.

Hmmmm, tough pick.

4. Songbird

Songbird Well-Known Member

Even in a *bad* year, A-Rod goes 34-116-.288. Unbelievable.

I'd love to have that on the Dodgers every year.

5. BYH

BYH Active Member

That was outstanding. Another fucking grand slam by Verducci. Hope it ends up in BASW2007.