1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Using iPad for journalism/photography

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by kyleocker, Jan 6, 2013.

1. kyleocker

kyleocker New Member

I'm considering making the investment in getting an iPad, one with 4G. Wondering how people people have used it in the journalism field, and if they are able to do things like fully replace their note pads, etc.

As a sports journalist, I'm sure the stat keeping apps have the most bang for the buck probability. I've seen where ESPN NASCAR pit reporter Dave Burns uses one, which I've witnessed first hand on pit road at NASCAR races a couple of times. (http://frontrow.espn.go.com/2012/09/espns-dave-burns-reports-from-nascar-pits-with-help-from-his-trusty-ipad/)

I work as a sports editor, at least one game every night. I also regularly cover "hard news" (I'm a workaholic at a small newspaper...). I write and take photos.

I'm figuring I could use it to submit photos at an accident scene, but otherwise, if I'm filing photos or text on deadline from someplace, that place generally has wifi because about the only time I do that is at a state tournament. I don't see a touch screen replacing my MacBook as far as writing goes. But it seems like it'd be good from an all-in-one recording, note taking, stat taking device, etc.

I've seen an adapter to connect the iPad to usb devices. I'm assuming this would work for a CF card reader to put photos I've taken on the iPad, then transmitting them back to the newsroom via 4G?

2. the_zuniga

the_zuniga New Member