1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Use Tape Recorder...Yes or No

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by BNWriter, Aug 3, 2011.

?

I use a tape recorder or other recording device for interviews

1. Yes, sometimes

16 vote(s)
    20.0%
  2. Yes, all the time

49 vote(s)
    61.3%
  3. Yes, tape recorder some; another mode others

2 vote(s)
    2.5%
  4. No

4 vote(s)
    5.0%
  5. Another device used (Specify)

9 vote(s)
    11.3%
  1. BNWriter

BNWriter Active Member

I admit to being horribly old fashioned. I have been doing this freelance job for almost 30 years and didn't start using a tape recorder until about 9 years in.

Now, with new forms of recording being used, I am still using a cassette recorder. I don't trust myself with anything else. I discovered I am not alone. I met another sportswriter who felt the same way. That got me to thinking: How many others of us out there are not trusting of new technology when it comes to getting every quote. Just curious. Thanks for voting and discussing.

2. Clerk Typist

Clerk Typist Guest

Cassette recorder. You can save a tape more readily than save digital by transferring to a laptop or whatever, and if the hard drive goes, you still have the tape. There's nothing old-fashioned about preserving a quote if necessary.

3. Rhody31

Rhody31 Well-Known Member

The problem with cassette and older digital technology is if it's windy and you're outside, there's a good chance you're losing everything.