1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Two interview questions

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by NQLBLQ, Oct 8, 2008.

1. NQLBLQ

NQLBLQ Member

I've got a scenario and a question for everyone here. I'd like to know how people on each side of the desk feel about this one.

I was called in for an interview and asked two questions:

1. Come up with two story ideas about the Podunk High football team.
    2. Come up with ideas about how to use that crazy inter-web-thingy to create revenue.

As a recent grad, I'm full of ideas, but I'm skittish to share my ideas because I fear that I probably won't be hired and those ideas will be turned around and used for the papers benefit. The “come up with two story ideas” is easy enough but it always feels like the people interviewing me are out of ideas and scavenging for new ones. The internet is one that I don't want to let out of the bag – my ideas aren't free.

I ended up explaining two football stories and letting them know that I have a few ideas for the internet and revenue, but I'd rather not elaborate.

I have read up on other threads but only found a handful of responses. Where do I draw the line? Where have other people drawn that line? I know I don't harbor any groundbreaking ideas but I'd hate to give a newspaper, which might not hire me, something for free.

Thanks in advance.

2. Wonderlic

Wonderlic Member