1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

TV in the newsroom

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by wrford, Jul 13, 2007.

1. wrford

wrford New Member

I am fairly new to this message board, so forgive me if this topic has already been done.
    I was curious as to how many papers out there have TVs in their newsroom. Mine doesn't and I have always thought it would be better for us to have one. I feel it would not only be good to have for the news desk (Presidential press conferences, Other breaking news stories, etc.) but it would also be nice for sports to have too. I know we can get live stats and scores off the internet, but sometimes it is nice to see games live and get an idea of what is going on.
    I realize a TV could also be a distraction and that it would be easy to abuse, but if its use is policed, I think it would be better to have one than not.
    Thoughts?

2. mike311gd

mike311gd Active Member

We've got two hanging from the newsroom ceiling, one in the sports wing and the other in the news wing. Usually on, they're on in the background for the most part. But when something breaks, it's nice to be able to see things happen.

3. buckweaver

buckweaver Active Member

My first newsroom had three (one for sports.)
    My second newsroom had four (1.5 for sports.)
    My third newsroom had like 12 (including three for sports. Flat-screens, too.) Boy, we were spoiled there. ;D
    My current newsroom has three (one for sports.)