1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Trouble moving from stringer to full-time

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by deezl18, Jul 24, 2006.

1. deezl18

deezl18 New Member

Hey everyone, I'm new here to this topic has probably come up a bunch of times before, but I'm in need of advice from peers, not just my boss.  I graduated from Wake Forest this spring and I've been looking for a full-time job covering sports, and to be honest it's just not going well at all.  I've been working at the W-S Journal for 4 1/2 years, 2 as a clerk and the last two or so as a stringer.  I've got I'd say around 100 bylines between features, game stories, and previews.  I've done a couple stories for the Miami Herald as well, most recently covering the ACC Track Championships in April.  When my boss at the W-S Journal and I sat down to talk about jobs in March, he seemed to think I'd be fine and shouldn't settle immediately for a job in preps.

Well I've been applying for the most part to openings posted on journalismjobs.com and some on the APSE site, and I'm getting, for the most part, no response, which makes me question whether or not I'm even getting a look.  And I'm not applying for big-time beats here, mostly a bunch of preps stuff recently.  Basically, I'm wondering what I need to do to break into the business full-time, because it seems the lack of full-time experience is making it awfully tricky to get that first full-time job.