1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

travel reimbursement

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Brain of J, Nov 13, 2006.

1. Brain of J

Brain of J Member

First off, before I get snapped at for not knowing, I AM fairly new to sports writing, about a year in so I'm just learning a lot of how things work.

Anyway,

I work at a twice-a-week newspaper. Being the time of year it is for preps, football, volleyball playoffs, I've been traveling every weekend across the state.

Since the beginning of October I've gone about 1600 miles.

Now, before I started here they said they DID pay travel expenses, but were pretty scant on how much or where or when.

I've been keeping track of my mileage, but I'm not sure what i'll get back, if anything.

Legally, is a newspaper required to pay a portion of travel costs? I've been told they are required to pay a certain percentage, but I'm not sure what.

When I worked at my internship, after several phone calls and emails, I did finally receive something back for my mileage, but it was 3 months after I had left.

I'm going to give them my mileage here this week, but I don't want them to give me the run around because I don't know any better.

what can I do to make sure I'm not being taken advantage of?

2. dragonfly

dragonfly Member

I don't know that it's required of them to pay you back, but it's pretty standard for newspapers to reimburse for mileage. We get anywhere from $0.30 a mile to $.3625 a mile, depending on gas prices.