1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Training

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by jaherman, Feb 6, 2007.

1. jaherman

jaherman Guest

Hey,

I've been reading this board for a while, but I'm finally ready to make my first post.

Anyway, I'm a sports editor at a daily college newspaper at a school without a journalism program. I'm just wondering if anyone has any innovative ideas or resources to help as we try to set up a better training program.

Some of the things we already in place:

-- Our copy edits are done with the writer there, so, presumably, they should be learning from this.
    -- Night editor sends out an e-mail to staff critiquing a story in the previous day's section along with a professional story to learn from
    -- Monthly workshops/discussions
    -- Beat guides (these need work)
    -- Weekly journalism tip of the week

Any other ideas?

Your help is appreciated.

2. --a list of places to drink beer cheap
    --which fast food joints stay open 24 hours
    --Top 5 pizza shacks in town
    --list of which athletes spend their booster money at the gentleman's clubs (I'd want to hang out with them)

3. EStreetJoe

EStreetJoe Well-Known Member

arrange to have the best pizza joint that advertises in the paper pay you in pizzas. That way copy editing/production night can turn into a cheap pizza night.

4. Eagleboy

Eagleboy Guest

GO BUCKEYES!

5. WSKY

WSKY Member

strippers? that'd help.

6. novelist_wannabe

novelist_wannabe Well-Known Member