1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Tour de France?

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by James307, Jun 4, 2008.

1. James307

James307 Member

Upfront, I've been covering cycling since 1981. I've witnessed way too many bike races. But it's like any other beat. It's all meaningless, really. But if you're into it, you're into it.

That said, the Tour de France begins July 5. Armstrong is gone, Landis is gone. Leipheimer's team got booted out of the race. About a half-dozen Americans will compete, that's it.

The sport has big-time problems, and I don't have rose-colored glasses on. It's not for everyone.

But after attending the Tour de France 10 straight years, start to finish, it's the best experience I've ever had as a sportswriter -- three weeks on the road in several countries, small cities, big cities, mountains, open roads at high speeds, epic slices of life, pretty women, great food, late-night pubs -- and pretty good deadlines back to the U.S.

More to the point: Should U.S. newspapers care more than of they do? Or, should the event be relegated to a graph in the digest or round-up each day?

2. Mizzougrad96

Mizzougrad96 Active Member

Fair or unfair, Lance Armstrong was the only reason anyone here cared.

When he retired, my boss joked that the next time cycling would be on the cover of our section would be when Armstrong died.

3. Rumpleforeskin

Rumpleforeskin Active Member

American newspapers began to stop caring when Lance Armstrong won his last Tour. We really stopped caring when Landis was kicked for doping.

4. Shoeless Joe

Shoeless Joe Active Member