1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Tips for Recent College Grad

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by SportsSmart, Jul 20, 2011.

1. SportsSmart

SportsSmart New Member

Greetings SJ,

I'm a recent college grad with more than two years of experience as a student writer and editor. I have written more than 75 articles for my school's student-run newspaper, and I have a few high quality clips at dailies, but nothing has come to fruition yet as of getting a job.

I've applied to a few jobs, but there has been no response as of the moment. So I ask, should I keep looking for jobs to enter the field? Or should I find something else that is stable for now in another field and hopefully freelance come fall?

Thanks.

2. Mizzougrad96

Mizzougrad96 Active Member

Go back to school and get a real degree. :D

3. sgreenwell

sgreenwell Well-Known Member

As others have implied, journalism is really rough right now. Brutally rough. As in, I worked for four years before even making more than $25,000, and that came just because I jumped to an Internet start-up.