1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Stats

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by mattyb, Sep 22, 2007.

1. mattyb

mattyb Guest

OK...I'm new to sports journalism. There has to be an easier way to keep football stats. Does anyone have any suggestions?

2. I'm guessing all of it.

That's not a criticism - I've never had to keep my own football stats (as a newsie I've written features but not gamers.) So count me interested, as well. I've kept baseball stats since I was like 6 years old but I just now realized I've never done football.

Is there a scoring sheet like baseball?

3. In Cold Blood

In Cold Blood Member

How are you keeping them now, mattyb?

When i cover a game, I have a sheet I take with me that I use to keep running totals of stats. I'll keep play-by-play on a separate notepad.

I'm too lazy to look, but if you do a search, I think there was a thread a few weeks back where people discussed their methods of keeping stats.

4. buckweaver

buckweaver Active Member

If there is, it's an improvised one. I've got my own system, and I'm sure everyone's got theirs.

Mine involves one legal pad and one notepad. Each team gets one sheet of legal paper, and I go back and forth depending on who's got the ball.