1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Start at big newspaper in news or small for sports?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by ATLHawksComeback, Jul 24, 2006.

1. ATLHawksComeback

ATLHawksComeback New Member

I graduated from college in May and am currently finishing up an internship. I haven't gotten any offers, but I am starting to get some interest from a few editors. The newspaper I am currently with would like to keep me, I think, but there aren't any openings in sports. They do have an opening in the metro section. I am also applying for some jobs around the country and am a finalist a few places, so I have a decision to make in the next few weeks.

a. Take a metro reporting job at a big newspaper (150-200k).
    b. Take a sports reporting job at a smaller newspaper (15-25k).

The pay doesn't really matter to me at this point. I just want to get my foot in the door, and see if I have what it takes to be a great sports writer.

Sports is, without a doubt, what I am passionate about, but I don't know which will be best for my career. I would say I am a decent journalist now, but I want to be great.

If you were in my shoes what would you do and why?

Thanks ... I probably just jinxed on landing any of the jobs.

2. spinning27

spinning27 New Member

Take A

Just trust me.

3. Definitely go with A. You can always move to sports from within, and who knows? You may prefer Metro.

4. DyePack

DyePack New Member

Hate to burst your bubble, but being a finalist doesn't mean you'll get an offer.

5. SF_Express

SF_Express Active Member