1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Selena Roberts: Tiger won't catch Nicklaus

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by broadway joe, Sep 30, 2009.

1. broadway joe

broadway joe Guest

She says Tiger won't get the five majors he needs to break Nicklaus' record. At 33, Tiger won't win five more majors the rest of his career? I'm far from a golf expert so correct me if I'm wrong, but that's a ridiculous prediction, is it not?

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/vault/article/magazine/MAG1160776/index.htm

2. Simon_Cowbell

Simon_Cowbell Active Member

As I have said on many other threads, Tiger really needs to get two majors next year when the "Tiger rota" is set up (Augusta, Pebble and St. Andrews), or he's in real trouble re: 19 pro majors.

3. Small Town Guy

Small Town Guy Well-Known Member

As I was reading it I was thinking, outing alert, Simon is Selena Roberts.

The stat I think she should have mentioned is that Nicklaus was 38 when he won his 15th. So Tiger could go majorless for the next four years, win the Masters at 38 and still be at Jack's pace.

And Jack took up golf at age 10 so that means he has a better shot at longevity than Tiger? I'm not sure Tiger's rounds between the ages of 2 and 10 are going to be affecting him when he's 38. Maybe the knees keep being problems, but that doesn't have anything to do with him being a child prodigy.

He doesn't win by 10 shots in majors, but he's also in almost every major the last few years, unlike his early years when it was a victory or fairly far back.