1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Seeking Career Advice

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by djsquid06, Feb 26, 2011.

1. djsquid06

djsquid06 New Member

Hello all. I rarely post on here but am a frequent reader and search for jobs here often. I am a recent college graduate who seeks wise advice from those much wiser and more experienced than me.

I worked at my school newspaper for a few years and ended as an ME. I spent most of my time on the sports desk. Sports remains my speciality and I'm hoping to eventually land a job in sports journalism.

I have applied to five graduate schools (one in sports journalism) and have planned on going to get a Master's for a while now. I also applied to many jobs after graduation in hopes of getting a bite at a job where I think I can grow.

Much to my surprise, I got a couple job interviews, including one recently in which I really impressed. It's to be an ME at a news corp. The pay is solid for entry level journalism, I'd hold an editing position (something I didn't think was possible coming out of undergrad).