1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

SE caught plagiarizing

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Fink-Nottle, Dec 16, 2006.

1. Fink-Nottle

Fink-Nottle New Member

I am a sports copy editor, and in October I caught the sports editor plagiarizing (he cut and pasted another paper's story from the Web and inserted some local quotes; as soon as I read it I was suspicious; his defense: "I accidentally copied it"). Luckily, I caught it before the story was published. I reported the plagiarism to the executive editor. It is now December, and the sports editor has not been fired, and as far as I can tell, he's gotten off scot-free. He might be on double-secret probation, but whoop-de-do. The fact that I work for a plagiarist bugs me every single day. This is the person, come evaluation time, who will be judging my work. Of course, I could look for a new position, but I otherwise like my job and the company I work for (plus I'm not the one who should be leaving). Any suggestions on the next step I should take?

2. writing irish

writing irish Active Member

One word. Plastics.

Seriously, if the ethics at your company make you feel bad about your job, you should consider finding another employer down the line. If you feel that your company is a good place overall, you might want to think twice about jumping ship, though.

In the meantime, just concentrate on doing your best. If you think this SE will be your supervisor more or less indefinitely, I'd think more seriously about moving on. If you think that there's a good chance he'll be gone in a couple-three years, maybe sticking around is best.