1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Rugby feature

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by wehrwd, Mar 15, 2010.

1. wehrwd

wehrwd Guest

Hey all,

I'm looking for some feedback on a rugby feature I wrote a couple of months ago. A little background info: I'm a college student and got a chance to work at a nearby paper over break. This story was about two people who were being inducted into a local rugby hall of fame.

One more quick note: there are two sentences I don't particularly like ... fifth paragraph, "end without reward" sounds awkward, and I think the closing sentence is cheesy and I wish I would have come up with something else. Deadling was bearing down, however.

Anyway, looking for some more feedback. Thanks in advance!

---------------------

Steve Franck survived the ankle injury. He survived the torn MCL. He played through five shoulder injuries and numerous stitches.

But the four concussions during one season?

That was a little too much, even for a rugby player as rabid as Franck.

“That’s why I’m not playing anymore,” said Franck, 45. “I just said, ‘You know what, I’d like to not be drooling over myself when I’m 80 years old.’”

And so ended a 20-year rugby career that started in the early 1980s. His career didn’t end without reward, however. Franck, along with longtime friend and teammate Brad Palmer, was recently inducted into the Faribault Bokspring Hall of Fame.

‘It was very much a family atmosphere’