1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Reader's Digest?

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by Flying Headbutt, Jan 25, 2007.

1. Flying Headbutt

Flying Headbutt Moderator Staff Member

I got an offer to subscribe to them today for just $10 a year. I honestly didn't know they were even around anymore, but then again I'm sure I'd have heard a big story if they had gone under. All I know is my grandparents got that magazine 15-20 years ago. Are they still even worth getting anymore?

2. Buck

Buck Well-Known Member

Was it ever worth getting?

3. Just_An_SID

Just_An_SID Well-Known Member

Humor In Uniform is worth at least 83 cents a month.

4. ondeadline

ondeadline Well-Known Member

I think that, for $10 a year, it's more than worth it. My in-laws get it, so I've read it on a semi-regular basis for a while. There's always a good selection of interesting reads in addition to the staples of funny jokes and anecdotes.

Heck, I even subscribed to ESPN the magazine for $10 for one year (half the reason, though, was to get the access to the "insider" content on espn.com.)

5. imjustagirl2

imjustagirl2 New Member

I liked Reader's Digest for when I was coloring my hair and I had to sit in the bathtub for 25 minutes. I skim the jokes, read the marital discord story (if they still have those, I read my mom's when I lived in the same state).

6. dooley_womack1

dooley_womack1 Well-Known Member

The Word Power quiz is always fun to take (for a journo, it should be a piece of cake), and the different anecdote packages have some good stuff. The articles are generally too righty for my taste.

7. Ben_Hecht