1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Quark vs. InDesign

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by sportsed, May 26, 2006.

1. sportsed

sportsed Guest

Alright, after 11 years of using Quark I've been using InDesign for a couple months.

I like the program a whole lot, but a couple things nag me (though I trust all of the geniuses on here will be able to point me in the right direction :D.)

• When I cut an entire line and paste it over the line immediately above it, it leaves one space in front of the line directly below the line cut. Extremely annoying.

• Quark's system of cutting and pasting photos from photo boxes was much better (again, unless I'm missing something). In Quark, if you had a mugshot to the side of the page and wanted to put that pic into a mugshot dummy box ON your page, you apple-x the old one and apple-v into the new one.

In InDesign, it seems as though you can't really do that ... you have to select the box you want and import it. Not that big of a deal, but seconds add up to minutes add up to hours over the long, long haul.

• If you want to do drop caps to open a story in InDesign, you can't have the bottom of the big character match up with the bottom of the opening line like you can in Quark. All the drop cap options have the top of the big letter matching up with the top of the first line and going down from there. I have to do a 25-point character style to get around that.