1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Post-Graduation Lull

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Kritter47, Jun 16, 2006.

1. Kritter47

Kritter47 Member

I'd like to think I'm a good candidate for an entry-level position.

I graduated May 20 with a degree in journalism, wrote sports four years for my school paper, had a two-year internship with a major pro team's website, strung high school stories for local papers and have a good resume and nice clips. But, like a lot of recent grads around here, I seem to have missed the boat as far as a full-time job right out of school.

I've had a few places call me and express interest in setting up an interview, but nothing has come through at the final intervel level except a part-time agate position I didn't get. I'm attempting to apply for most entry-level positions to get my foot in the door at a moderate sized paper. Am I overshooting here? Should I be looking at even smaller papers (circulation 10,000 or less) or is my current range (circulation 15,000-30,000) a good starting point? And is my lack of a newspaper internship really hurting me in the eyes of hiring editors?

For reference - the websites I wrote for were DallasCowboys.com and DallasDesperados.com, which give readers newspaper-style content. There's so much coverage down here of the Cowboys if we just put out PR releases, we'd get no readers.

Finally, I'd love any tips you all have on how a 22-year-old southern girl can work towards getting an NHL, major junior, D-1 college or AHL hockey beat at sometime in her career.

2. txsportsscribe

txsportsscribe Active Member