1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Player of the Year and All-area selections: How do you do it?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Logan, Mar 17, 2010.

1. Logan

Logan New Member

I'm new to picking POY and AAs. For the last year and half I've basically selected players who I believe are very coachable, possess above average to superior ability and a few other characteristics like sportsmanship, leadership and how they play under adversity - all parameters that in my mind separate players from playas.

What system or criteria do you use to compile your listings for your publication? Do you base your decision on purely on stats and playing ability? Does academic standing, community service or other factors figure into your process. I'm hoping to learn something...anything that might enhance my decision making process.

Thanks in advance.

~ L

2. JimmyHoward33

JimmyHoward33 Well-Known Member

Whenever possible with teams, I try to pick a pure all-star team. So for soccer, for instance, it's not 15 mids and 5 strikers, I try to pick stoppers, sweepers. It's not based purely on stats because sometimes they don't tell the whole story. Sometimes we get complaints, so and so had 3 points more than Johnny who you had as an all-star. Well Johnny can win faceoffs and backchecks so...