1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

NHL Draft feature

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by ports, Jul 28, 2007.

1. ports

ports Guest

Hey everyone, I've been reading here for a few months and the discussions are enlightening. I'm just getting started in the biz (no pity please, but beer and free lunches are acceptable) and I'd appreciate any feedback on my stuff. Here's a piece I did for a New England hockey magazine's website. Let me know what you think! Many thanks.

First there's the name.

How's it spelled? Is it vanRiemsdyk? Van Riemsdyk? van Reimsdyk?

And, how do you say it? “van-REEMS-dyk?” “van-RYMS-dik?”

“It's a tricky name,” said James van Riemsdyk with a laugh. “That's for sure. More people get it wrong than get it right.”

Newspaper copy editors and broadcasters are likely unexcited about the rise of James van Riemsdyk to the top of this year's draft class. But his name will be on the minds of many at the June 22-23 NHL Entry Draft in Columbus.

That's because Van Riemsdyk (van-REEMS-dyk, to be clear) has a mix of size, speed and scoring prowess unlike any other player in the Class of 2007.

“He's the best combination of size and skill in this draft,” said Kyle Woodlief, chief scout and publisher for Red Line Report. “He's got as big an upside as anyone.”

“He's got all the skills,” said Jarmo Kekalainen, assistant GM and head scout of the St. Louis Blues.