1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

News or sports internship?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by azbjn9101, Jan 31, 2010.

1. azbjn9101

azbjn9101 New Member

Was recently offered a position (summer internship) on the news desk at a major metro. My background is all sports. (internship, part-time at local newspaper, school paper)

Should I take this versus a sports internship to diversify my background? Will I fall behind other sports candidates by taking a news internship versus a sports one or might it make me look more attractive as a future candidate? Is covering news really not as boring as I once thought?

If you've made the jump, let me hear from you. Any advice is welcome, up to and including "Get out of the business."

2. OnTheRiver

OnTheRiver Active Member

I made the jump from sports to news back in 1999. Never regretted it.

Lot broader range of topics to cover, and better hours, to boot.

Still: You can take this internship and get back to sports sometime. Whatever you do, as long as you're becoming a better, more well-rounded reporter and writer, is good for your career.

3. WriteThinking

WriteThinking Well-Known Member

I would take the news internship, especially if you've already got/done some sports stuff, and especially if it's at a major-metro paper. That could be a wide-ranging, far-reaching opportunity.

Sure, you might end up writing up some briefs round-ups, or wind up covering the Harvest Festival. But, you know what? Anything and everything can be done well.