1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Newbie High School Football Question

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by bostonbred, Sep 24, 2007.

1. bostonbred

bostonbred Guest

I'm new at reporting football (stringer) and was wondering about taking stats at high school football games. Should they be verified with a coach after the game and before publication? It seems to be tougher to verify some stats, like who was credited on a group tackle and the like, compared to other sports. Especially without a PA announcer at some of the smaller schools. I just want to make sure my stats are 100% accurate and not sure how I'd go about that.

Thanks.

2. BertoltBrecht

BertoltBrecht Member

In my experience bred, PA guys know shit about the game. Coaches don't remember much either.

Your stats will never be 100 percent accurate. My experience is two people can stand next to each other and not get the same numbers. Even if you have Truman Capote-like memory retention and use a ruler to measure each play, your numbers won't necessarily match the "official" school numbers that coaches around here do one or two days later.

I think people understand yours are unofficial, as long as you try to get it as close as possible, you're not doing anything wrong.

3. Jeremy Goodwin

Jeremy Goodwin Active Member