1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Need job advice for recent grad looking to get back into sports reporting

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Rhouston, Aug 12, 2007.

1. Rhouston

Rhouston Member

Hi all,

First of all, let me just say that this Web site provides a great service to all aspiring and current sports journalists out there. Kudos to everyone who contributes.

Getting to the point, the purpose of this post is for advice. I am a recent college graduate who is searching for a job. My junior year, I was my paper's assistant sports editor for the fall semester before venturing off to London in the spring. Needless to say, I was replaced for the rest of the year by someone else. My senior year, there was a need to fill the opinions editor position at the paper (a position that requires significantly less reporting), so I bucked up and took that position instead of applying for a higher-demanded sports editor or assistant position (anyway, both editors were returning, so I probably wouldn't have gotten either position).

So I guess my question would be to any or all is how much that leave will affect my hiring status. Has anyone had a similar experience? I have plenty of clips, but the most recent sports-related one is from Fall 2005. Are those too old to send in? If that's the case, does anyone have suggestions?