1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Moving to Arkansas and I know nothing about the state or Arkansians(?) ... Help?

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by TMagelssen, Jul 4, 2011.

1. TMagelssen

TMagelssen New Member

I graduated in May, and I accepted a job at the Pine Bluff Commercial after visiting the town.

As the thread title suggests, I know very little about my new home, including traditional high school powers, things to do in the Pine Bluff/Little Rock area and anything else you can imagine.

Obviously these are things I will ask people in the area, but I'd prefer to get some thoughts from those who might be less biased.

Advice? Thoughts?

2. Steak Snabler

Steak Snabler Well-Known Member

Little Rock has a Double-A minor-league baseball team, the Travelers (Angels affiliate). They currently have the No. 1 prospect in baseball (or No. 2, depending on the list), outfielder Mike Trout.

That's all I got.

3. bydesign77

bydesign77 Active Member

Arkansas is the nation's leading producer of rice.

4. slappy4428

slappy4428 Active Member

How one poster here, who's always willing to talk about himself and lived in Arkansas all of 12 minutes, has not regaled you with all his sage advice yet is stunning.

5. Liut

Liut Well-Known Member

Arkansas takes some abuse on this site but fact is, it is a very beautiful state.

You're moving to a rough town, but it's a hell of a good gig out of the chute. As I stated on a previous thread, George Ivory is a good guy and Mike Newell is a hoot to observe and cover.