1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Moving Tips

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by BrianM, Mar 3, 2011.

1. BrianM

BrianM Member

I currently work for a suburban weekly, but I am in the process of moving to a slightly Podunk town in another state to gain daily experience, learn to do layout and multi-task, and get more sports clips to start to work my way up the ladder a bit. Of course, being a relatively beginning journalist, I have very little money to do this with. I am really getting financially worried about moving expenses; I haven't asked, (I'm a little reluctant to look too much like a prima donna before I even start the new job.) but I don't think Podunk papers pay them these days, do they? So, I'm worried paying for an apartment, furnishing the place, (I'm not hiring movers and not taking anything that won't fit in my car.) Internet access in the apartment, and eating until I get my first paycheck.....
    Since I figure my fellow sports journalists here probably have a lot of experience with moving on the cheap these days, does anyone have any good tips or valuable advice for me?
    Thanks......

2. newspaperman

newspaperman Member

I can't speak for your new employer, but the company that I work for, which is a small podunk, paid for my expense to get out of my lease early. And that's it. With the cost of U-Haul, gas, and other expenses, it set me back about $800. I ate ramen noodles for the first two month. But in your case, I would come out and ask. And since you're already hired, the worst they could say is no.

3. MileHigh

MileHigh Moderator Staff Member