1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Man on the Street — good idea?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by BertoltBrecht, Feb 20, 2008.

1. BertoltBrecht

BertoltBrecht Member

So by a twist of fate, I'm an editor at a very small weekly in a town of less than 7,000 people. Our editorial page is shit (state senator's columns and capital briefs), so I was thinking of ways to improve it. I've always thought all "Man on the Street"-type things were lame (beside The Onion's), but it seems like a decent idea. A friend suggested I call random city leaders once a week to ask if they wanted to write a guest column, any other ideas?

I'm producing almost all of the content, so a non-fluff column from me is almost out of the question.

2. Ace

Ace Well-Known Member

So what made you decide they were less lame?

If you do them, I think you need to include a mug shot and make them on a particular topic of interest.

3. BertoltBrecht

BertoltBrecht Member

I'm still not sure. I know I want a more local editorial section, but I don't have time to write columns, so it's something quick, easy and local.

4. Frank_Ridgeway

Frank_Ridgeway Well-Known Member

I was tempted to pick every wino downtown because I wanted "Man on the Street" to be an accurate heading.

5. Moderator1

Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member

I hated them with every fiber of my being when I was in papers and had to do them or assign them.
    So it pains me to say they were actually pretty well read and received.