1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Looking for advice

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by txtraider2010, Feb 6, 2010.

1. txtraider2010

txtraider2010 New Member

Hey guys,

I have been browsing this site for the last week or so, and I thought I would ask the experts here a few questions.

I've been doing radio around here for the last 5 years or so. Play by play/color, as well as hosting shows and what not. Writing has always been a hobby of mine, particularly when it comes to sports. The thing I love the most about my job isn't necessarily being on the air as much as it is doing the grunt work. Covering the games, going over stats, breaking down match-ups, and just keeping up with all of it. I love searching for a good story and I love finding different angles to present to an audience. What I would really like to do is get into writing. Im not so sure that I want to land a job for a major newspaper or anything (though I definitely don't rule that out further down the road).

I'm 29 years old (for another couple weeks anyway!) and I have tossed around the idea of going back and finishing school, which I know is probably in my bese interest anyway, its just not something I can do right this moment. Anyway, I would like to get some things out there. Cover games and write stories that people actually end up reading. Not necessarily for the money, but more just to be able to have something with my name on it.