1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Leprechaun in Chriton, Alabama

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by 93Devil, May 29, 2007.

1. 93Devil

93Devil Well-Known Member

OK, I know I am new to this board, but I did a search of the board and could find only one two-post thread about this.

It happened over a year ago, I know, but I really have some questions I need answered. My background is print and I have traded elbows with some of the TV guys in my day, but I still cannot figure this out.

I'm assuming this is a serious news piece.

How did they find out about this? Does the little green guy have a PR man? Did someone come into the news room and say, "there are a bunch of people down the block looking for a leprechaun. Let's do a story."

How did it go through so many people in the newsroom? It looks like the reporter, god help him by the way, went out to the location on a few occasions, and he had a graphic created to go with the piece.

How did it get approved for the air?

How did they allow these quotes in? I have never heard the word crack used jokingly in any type of story.

Bottom line is, I laughed my ass off. What makes it so special (even down the fake intrest by the female talking head) is that it my never be recreated again.

It is perfect.

God bless the internet.

2. slappy4428

slappy4428 Active Member

I kinda thought it was stupid the first time it was posted here...

3. My only question is this: What is up with that first guy's top front teeth? They look like a set of toothpick-sized piano keys. Weird.

4. imjustagirl2

imjustagirl2 New Member