1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

leaving a job you just started a few months ago

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Brain of J, Aug 7, 2006.

1. Brain of J

Brain of J Member

So I'm in this situation with 2 jobs and I know its foolish not to take the opportunity thats being presented, (bigger paper, more money, more things to cover, better chance for advancement), but I just started my current job two months ago.  I'm fairly new to this  so I don't know, when is the best time to let my current employers know that I'm close to leaving for a better place? I also feel a little bad in that if I do get the job, I'd be leaving at a bad time, right before the preps season begins, and that they might be hard pressed to find a replacement right away.
    Thats not my problem I guess in a sense, but I don't want to leave them high and dry either.

I'm planning on telling them once I have an interview set up, but if I told them earlier it might help them find a replacement since I'm working at a pretty small paper and its not like there will be a lot of people who would be excited to work here.

Anyone who's been through this kind of thing from either side, I'd sure like to hear what your opinions are on it.

Thanks!

2. DyePack

DyePack New Member

If you don't have the other job lined up, why would you tell them anything?

3. sportschick

sportschick Active Member

If it's a better opportunity, take it. They'll most likely understand. No need to EVER feel like you owe your current gig much. They'd probably screw you if given the chance.