1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Jones and Pierce and my slight disagreement

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by SF_Express, Mar 8, 2011.

1. SF_Express

SF_Express Active Member

This is Charles Pierce talking to Chris Jones. I can't find it on the site anywhere currently:

http://sonofboldventure.blogspot.com/2011/03/five-for-writing-charles-p-pierce.html

Charlie goes off on a note about how writers make lousy editors. Because I think I'm a decent editor, if I buy into that thinking, I was a lousy writer, which could be true, but I don't think so. Reporting, not so much. Pushing a noun against a verb -- I wish I could remember the movie right this second (wait, Inherit the Wind) -- I think I learned to do pretty well.

And obviously, nothing is absolutes. But ...

I think there are some decent editors who once wrote, and the reason they're pretty good is BECAUSE they once wrote.

If you think about it, what's the other complaint you hear a lot about editors from writers: He was never a writer, so how does he know what it's all about?

So I think having been a writer can make some editors better at it, because they are coming at it with some first person knowledge of the process.

This is a slap-dash post on the way to a teeth cleaning, so sorry if it's substandard.

Discuss.

2. LongTimeListener

LongTimeListener Well-Known Member