1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

IU feature

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by SectionSix, Nov 27, 2006.

1. SectionSix

SectionSix New Member

Newbie here. Enjoying the site. Thought I'd see what y'all thought.... Thanks, in advance, for any feedback.

In two short years, Kellen Lewis has gone from an overlooked high school recruit bound for military school to a starting quarterback at Indiana University "destined for stardom.''

That "destined for stardom'' tag is how Michigan coach Lloyd Carr describes the redshirt freshman who will lead host Indiana into Saturday's 3:30 p.m. game with the Wolverines.

"He's got great ability to run the football, but I think he's even more impressive as a passer,'' Carr said. "He's got a great release, a strong arm and (he is) a guy that really has brought that team together.''

During the last five games, Lewis has thrown 11 touchdown passes, run for three more and averaged 276 yards of total offense to put the Hoosiers (5-5, 3-3 Big Ten) within one win of their first bowl game since 1993.

Lewis was named co-Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week after Indiana's upset of Iowa, accounted for six touchdowns in a win over Michigan State and gained 396 total yards - including a career-high 321 passing - in last week's loss to Minnesota.

Pretty good for a kid that nobody wanted to play quarterback.