1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Its always been my dream

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by bsizzle_77, Nov 20, 2006.

1. bsizzle_77

bsizzle_77 New Member

I’m an aspiring sports writer; I’m a senior in high school and all I have ever wanted to do is to write about the sports that I love. I would appreciate it if any of you could just give me some info that really helped you out on your road to where you are today. Thanks for the help.

2. dixiehack

dixiehack Well-Known Member

Spell check. Go back and do it now before the jackals arrive.

3. Songbird

Songbird Well-Known Member

My thought exactly, dixie.

4. bsizzle_77

bsizzle_77 New Member

Thanks I was in a hurry,

5. I'll never tell

I'll never tell Active Member

Just a question ... why do you want to be a sports writer?

6. Keep the hounds at bay...for a while.

7. Jones

Jones Active Member

This is important, kiddo, because if you love sports more than you love writing, you need to find a different dream.

8. KnuteRockne

KnuteRockne Member

Ask yourself this: Do you love sports or do you love to write? You better love both. The novelty of covering games and talking with the participants can wear off if you want to do it for the wrong reasons i.e. "fanboy" reasons. If you're curious about the way sports operate - not just on the field, but the politics of league and conference structures, contract negotiations, recruiting, NCAA bylaws, etc., then this can be fulfilling. If you just want to shake T.O.'s hand or tell your friends you asked Coach K. a question in a press conference, not so much.

9. three_bags_full