1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

How to write an article about a sucky season?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Posey_Lynn96, Sep 10, 2012.

1. Posey_Lynn96

Posey_Lynn96 New Member

Hi, I am a high school student and I have to write an article about our schools tennis team. They did great last year, but this year they have lost 16 matches. How do I put a good spin on it so I don't step on any toes? I would love your honest opinions.
    Thanks,
    Posey Lynn :)

2. Uncle.Ruckus

Uncle.Ruckus Guest

Re: How to write a article about a sucky season?

Hoo boy. Is this legit?

3. Posey_Lynn96

Posey_Lynn96 New Member

Yeah... the coach only gave me two quotes about how they're improving, but they have lost every game.

4. Moderator1

Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member

Tennis match. Not game. An article, as you have in your post. Not a article as you have in subject.

5. Posey_Lynn96

Posey_Lynn96 New Member

Can anyone actually help me or is this forum only for trolling exasperated high school journalists?

6. Versatile

Versatile Active Member

Write what happened. Don't sugarcoat, don't overwrite. Let the facts tell the story.

7. HanSenSE

HanSenSE Well-Known Member

Talk to some of the players too. And you may just end up doing the story we love most here, about how hard they're trying. Also ... What Moddy Said about terminology.

8. Moderator1

Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member

I did help you. So did some others.

9. flexmaster33

flexmaster33 Well-Known Member

First rule...don't put any spin on it.

10. Versatile

Versatile Active Member