1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

How long do you stay on the first job?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by MadDog2020Terp, Jan 19, 2007.

1. MadDog2020Terp

MadDog2020Terp New Member

Hey guys, newbie here.

I just graduated from college and landed my first job. I'm working at a daily paper in Indiana. My question is: How long is the average stay at the first job? The sports editor told me the last three people who had my job moved on within a year.

Is it realistc for me to look to move up to a larger daily after a year at this job? What is the maximum amount of time I'm looking at?

Thanks.

2. HejiraHenry

HejiraHenry Well-Known Member

Everybody's mileage will vary, but at the least I would think in terms of being there two years.

Think of it this way: It lets you structure your approach to the job with the idea that "next year, I'll know to get started on that volleyball peview a week earlier" or whatever. Always self-critique with an eye on how you'll improve in your next orbit around the sun. Stay focused on improvement and you'll advance; focus on leaving within a year and you may struggle.

3. zeke12

zeke12 Guest

Until you can find a better job.

Unless you somehow landed your first job out of school and you're making a livable wage.

In which case, Henry's probably closer. But don't starve yourself to tighten up that volleyball preview.

Leave when you have a better offer.

4. shotglass

shotglass Guest

The other side of that fence, too ... just be damn sure the grass really IS greener over there.