1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

gotta whole lotta lunch

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by writing irish, Aug 16, 2006.

1. writing irish

writing irish Active Member

Folks, I offer the following anecdote not to seek sympathy, or ridicule, but strictly for the purposes of amusement.

Context: I'm new in a small town, following a short stint in an even smaller town.  Sad to say, I've been involuntarily celibate for a while.  However, I sense that this era of deprivation is in its waning days.  Positive female attention over the past few weeks suggests that my attractiveness is reviving.

So today I visit one of my presumed prospects. "Rachel" works in a legal office.  A mutual friend of ours is hospitalized and we're taking turns looking after the friend's cat.  My mission: ask her to lunch.

My sterling pick-up skills in action:

(First, a little small talk and discussion of the cat, then...)

Irish: So how are things going around here today?
    Rachel: (smiling) Really busy, kind of crazy.

(At this point, I'm planning to ask her out to lunch within the next 30 seconds. I'm distracted by thoughts of eating her up like a strawberry fruit roll-up stuffed with whipped cream. For some reason, the words "crêpe" and "suzette" cloud my mind. By brain is addled by food-sex analogies. I decide to ask her a few polite questions about her busy day at the office before asking her to lunch...)

Irish: Are you up to your ears in lunch?
    Rachel: (laughs)
    Irish: I mean, the reason I say that, is I was going to ask you if you wanted to go to lunch today.