1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

General ideas for a column?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Jay Sherman, Jul 12, 2008.

1. Jay Sherman

Jay Sherman Member

My shop is getting back to a schedule of writing columns. We're given a lot of freedom and can write about what we want. There's a big 5K race today, so my column (which runs every Friday morning) was about the history and importance to the community.

But I'm new to this gig and new to the area, so I don't know exactly how to go about brewing up columns. I was thinking of interviewing some of the players in the American Legion baseball league and see about baseball superstitions (an idea that was posted in the summer enterprise thread a few weeks ago).

Other than that, I'm having trouble coming up with ideas. I've got a Wii with Wii Sports, so I was thinking of writing about that as I watch my athletic roommate struggle mightily to play it. I'm not sure how that would fly with my SE who's an old school guy who probably has never heard of the Wii. Plus, Wii Sports has been out for a while.

Help me brew some general ideas, SJ, I'm spinning my wheels. ;D

2. Stone Cane

Stone Cane Member

no

3. Jay Sherman

Jay Sherman Member

4. Sheri

Sheri Member

You could try the controverisal subject of horse slaughter.

That seems to go over well in your part of the world.