1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Freelance question

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by BRoth, Jul 11, 2006.

1. BRoth

BRoth Member

I'm an intern at my local paper and recently finished writing a pretty lengthy article about a group of women coming to my city to race in this weekend's triathlon.

The feature story is basically about different things the women have overcome to race triathlons.

The question:
    What is the ethical way to handle trying to turn this into a story I could freelance? Is there a way at all? The story will be published (after losing about 20 inches to fit in the paper) tomorrow. Is it ethical or legal to try and pitch the story to a magazine?

2. Overrated

Overrated Guest

I have no answer for your question, but I have a few of my own.

You lost 20 inches? What was it to begin with? 85? 120? Longer?

3. tyler durden 71351

tyler durden 71351 Active Member