1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

For copy editors

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by inkjet71, Sep 25, 2006.

1. inkjet71

inkjet71 New Member

How much do you like your jobs? Have you thought about doing anything else?

I'm still pretty new to the business, and I've been doing sports copy editing since I graduated from school (about two years ago). But I'm not sure if this is really what I want to do for the rest of my life. Figured I'd ask here and see if any other editors have encountered such a dilemma.

Thanks.

2. da man

da man Well-Known Member

Every last one of them.

3. Claws for Concern

Claws for Concern Active Member

I'm sure all of those who have been a copy editor for any length of time understand your feelings, but the key is to look at it this way ...

1. It's usually a quicker path to landing a job at a bigger paper.
    2. It's a chance to help shape the look of the paper each day.
    3. It's a definite step toward being a sports editor IMO.
    4. Being a copy editor can help your writing.
    5. Working with a reporter on their story can HOPEFULLY make that person a better writer and that makes your job easier.

4. If you don't like it already, you'd better start thinking of something else. Even within the newsroom. You could work for the Web site or design pages. Or try to convince the boss to let you write stories (a tough sell).

Or go back to college and get a law degree.

5. Chi City 81

Chi City 81 Guest

You forgot: 6. You don't take the job home with you every day.

6. SF_Express

SF_Express Active Member

Man, I always did....