1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

football tab cover photo

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by millseyboy11, May 25, 2007.

1. millseyboy11

millseyboy11 Guest

I realize I'm a newbie, but I need some advice. I work at a semiweekly paper where I am a one-person sports desk. We were talking about the cover photo for our football preview tab, and my suggestion was a shot of an empty locker with non-team specific football gear filling the locker (the tab will preview nine area high school teams, and I don't want to piss off anyone by featuring Podunk High's colors on the cover).
    My editor hated the idea, and wants to shoot the "star player" from the various high schools for the cover. Any advice on what would make a better cover picture, or should I just feature the nine players and get ready for the pissed off parents?
    And, not to get out of my newbie status, I'll fetch beers for anyone who can provide some help with my problem.

2. jfs1000

jfs1000 Member

Shoot the star player. Who wants a staged shot of a locker room? It is a bit early for this topic (is it june yet?) but I always err on the side of putting live people in photos. If you got a DI prospect, or a great player in the area, make him your lead story. Don't worry if people complain. That's what we are here for.

If you are in a fertile football area, stage a shot with the best player from each team. Get people and players in the photo at all costs.

Edit: Also, why are you so concerned with pissing parents off? Tell them to take a hike if they don't like your cover.

3. millseyboy11

millseyboy11 Guest