1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Feature on autistic athlete

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by goldy220, Jun 21, 2011.

1. goldy220

goldy220 New Member

Hey guys, this is my first time posting in the workshop. I just completed a feature on a local autistic athlete and was hoping for feedback. I'm not aware of how big J-Mac is elsewhere, but he's huge in our coverage area since it happened here. That's why I mention him.

Autism never got in the way of Naples grad Ian Liebentritt, on or off the court

NAPLES - Ian Liebentritt was just 13 years old when Greece Athena High School’s Jason McElwain, who was diagnosed with autism at a young age, stepped into that national spotlight after playing in the team’s final regular season game.

“It was an incredible story how he just came off the bench and scored 20 points in four minutes,” said Liebentritt, who is also autistic. “In 11th grade, I didn’t play much and I often would think of it as I had this many points and J-Mac had 20 in four minutes.”

Liebentritt eventually did surpass McElwain in career points after playing major minutes as a senior for Naples this season. Ian also was a key contributor on the varsity tennis and golf teams.

The son of Jeff and Kathy Liebentritt was diagnosed with pervasive developmental disorder, a form of autism, at the age of three. It took Ian until about then to start speaking. As part of the disorder, Ian is unable to smile on command.

“It’s hard for me to look people in the eye,” Ian explained. “It’s often harder for me to concentrate on the task.”