1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Ethics question

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by sirvaliantbrown, Sep 4, 2007.

1. I'm a student. I just did consecutive internships at major papers. During those internships, I dealt semi-regularly with politicians. Now, before returning to one of those papers, I'm going back to school for a year.

I was a political advocate before I was a journalist. Would it be acceptable to participate, during this journalism-free school year, in any form of political advocacy?

For two reasons, I'm leaning strongly towards no. One: I'd be lobbying some of those same politicians - and I'll have to cover them again next summer and beyond. Two: on Google, half of the results for my name would be for news coverage, half for activism. And that makes me uncomfortable.

Am I being overly cautious?

2. Chi City 81

Chi City 81 Guest

No. It's probably a good idea on your part to leave behind the activism.

3. DGRollins

DGRollins Member

That depends...

Do you want to be a journalist? Or, do you want to be an advocate?

'Cause you can't be both. At least not in a mainstream publication.