1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Dumb, quick football question

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by finishthehat, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. finishthehat

    finishthehat Active Member

    Probably been asked and answered, possibly Google-able, but anyway:

    One of the games (Cowboys-Vikes?) last weekend ended with one of those interminable multi-lateral last-gasp efforts, eventually nullified by penalty.

    Does each guy who handled the ball get statistical credit for whatever yards he gained/lost during his part of the play?

    And if it started out as a forward pass, and along the way a lateral hits the ground, is recovered by the offense and the play eventually goes on to score a TD, would the QB get credit for a TD pass, or is it considered a running play from that point on?

  2. deskslave

    deskslave Active Member

    Yes and yes.

    If it's a forward pass, the original receiver gets credit for the reception and whatever yards he gains. Subsequent ball carriers get credit for receiving yards in whatever amount they gain. QB gets credit for a completion, all the yardage and any subsequent touchdown.

    And yes, that means a guy could be credited with zero receptions for 20 yards.
  3. Batman

    Batman Well-Known Member

    The only time I can remember one of these working in the NFL, it was when the Saints did it against the Jaguars in 2003 and then missed the tying extra point. On profootballreference.com, it's listed in the box score as a 21-yard TD pass from Aaron Brooks to Jerome Pathon. It seems, though, like normal hook-and-lateral rules should apply.

  4. Batman

    Batman Well-Known Member

    Or have a TD pass and a TD reception on the same play, like one high school kid in California did a few weeks ago.
  5. HandsomeHarley

    HandsomeHarley Well-Known Member

    I would think, if last week's play would have stayed legal and resulted in a touchdown, it wouldn't be a passing touchdown, but a fumble return for a TD, because there was a fumble during all the laterals.
  6. finishthehat

    finishthehat Active Member

    That's what I was wondering -- why wouldn't a downed lateral be considered a fumble, and from that point on it's not a pass play?

    But thanks for the answers. Interesting.
  7. deskslave

    deskslave Active Member

    There's a TV show in Britain called a Question of Sport. One of their segments is the intro to a clip, followed by asking one of the teams what happened next. They used the Saints-Jags play in one episode, had everybody guess, then showed the actual touchdown, but not the extra point.

    Yeah, that's what happened next, but they missed the REAL next.

    You may be right on the fumble part, though. I didn't think of that.
  8. micropolitan guy

    micropolitan guy Well-Known Member

    Except it wouldn't have counted because only the person who fumbles the ball can recover it for a score in that situation. The play should have been blown dead the second the ball was recovered by a different player than the man who fumbled it.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page