1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Dontrelle Willis retires

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Dick Whitman, Jul 3, 2012.

1. Dick Whitman

Dick Whitman Well-Known Member

Once upon a time, he was the most exciting, refreshing player in the game:

http://espn.go.com/mlb/story/_/id/8124831/dontrelle-willis-announces-retirement-stint-baltimore-orioles-farm-team

2. Gehrig

Gehrig Active Member

Really a sad story, he looked like he had it all figured out as a rookie, I never would have predicted the career path he took.

I've seen several pitchers in the last few years, most notably Rick Ankiel, attempt to reinvent themselves as hitters. I wonder why Dontrelle never gave that a shot?

3. I haven't followed his career as some may, so take this for what it's worth, but he strikes me as a guy who had a lot of raw talent, but just never learned how to pitch. I loved his kid-like attitude and passion for the game, but at some point, pitchers have to learn and grow mentally to keep going in this league, and I just never saw that from him. Which leads to guys who, when they take the mound, you have no idea which guy will show up . . . the dominant pitcher or the guy who's going to scuffle through three innings of work. For me, as a Pirates fan, Ian Snell and Kris Benson fell into that category. Hitters adjust, and when talent and the element of suprise may carry them early on, eventually, it runs out. Guys like Gooden and Boyd showed they could learn how to pitch something other than a dominant fastball and succeed later in their careers.

4. Drip

Drip Active Member