1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Don't know where to start- Help

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by hplove, Jul 13, 2006.

1. hplove

hplove New Member

I am a new journalist who is interested in getting into sports writing. I'm interning at a paper now and was given some advice by one of the sports writers here. (thankfully) My sports background includes growing up with a football coach for a dad and a brother who was into everything imaginable. I know the rules of many sports and the general idea of others but honestly don't know a whole lot.
    However, I do like to watch sports and am looking to make myself more marketable. (I am female and have noticed that there aren't a lot of female sports writers.)
    I was told to start out here explaining my situation and asking for advice, and then move on to reading as much sports writing as I can. Any more advice? Even an introduction about how you got where you are would help.

2. Rusty Shackleford

Rusty Shackleford Active Member

Honestly, this thread is doomed. In theory, this would be a great place for advice for a youngster from vets. But it rarely seems to work out that way. Your best bet is to find someone you know/can trust who's in the field, and when that person has a few minutes, pump them for information. Maybe contact a journalism professor from a nearby college who could talk to you about the field for a few minutes some time.

But take what you get here with a grain of salt. A big grain.

3. JME

JME Member