1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Does it actually matter where NBA writers sit?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by sirvaliantbrown, Jan 20, 2007.

1. A bunch of NBA writers have fake-casually mentioned recently that teams have booted them from press row - that they're now relegated to "the nether regions" of arenas and so forth.

My question: how much does it actually matter? I know how different the game is between the cheap seats and the good ones - I'm a seasoned vet of both. But it seems that the details you get when you're down low - who the coach is yelling at, who's sulking, whether the jump-ball call was correct - never actually make it into gamers. The stuff that does - how fast the pace was, how often the point guard broke down the defense, whatever - you can figure out pretty easily from the nether regions.

Your thoughts? (Other than that I should use fewer em-dashes?)

2. buzzerbeater

buzzerbeater Member

I do not cover the NBA.
    But from 20-plus years of covering college basketball, the experience is dramatically different from courtside to press seats up high. I have gotten many, many story ideas and tidbits from observing up close.

3. Orange Hat Bobcat

Orange Hat Bobcat Active Member

Baseball, for whatever reason, is best observed from a distance -- something about being able to see the position and dip of the pitches, the infield and outfield alignments, etc. Hockey is the same way. And football, well, it's great on the sidelines but a little impractical at any level above high schools.