1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Did you take your first job offer?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Corbin, Mar 11, 2013.

1. Corbin

Corbin Guest

I have a couple questions for everyone. I graduated last May and have been applying to every journalism job I can find since then. Well I was finally offered a job last week and I was ecstatic. Until I calculated my budget, at least haha.

The entire process was strange. I followed up on my application which led to my interview. But when I showed up I had to call the editor several times before he answered. Turns out he had forgotten about the interview. Anyway, we go into his office and he asks if I sent him any clips. He pulled up my email and read a couple. Then he asked if there was anything I wanted to say. From there I just listed all the reasons why I was qualified. Then I left. He told me I'd hear back in a week. A week or so later I called to see if the position had been filled. He said he needed one more day and I'd hear back tomorrow. After four more days he called and offered me the job.

I'll be covering the one local high school and a small private college. But, I'll be in charge of the entire sports section, which I believe will look good on my resume.When I say it's a small paper, I mean it has two other writers and the editor. Of course, the pay is poor. $21K. But I'm not planning to stay longer than a year. In fact, my predecessors didn't either. But I'm sure everyone says that ...